2020 National Film Awards UK

The nominations for the National Films Awards 2020 has been revealed and we're delighted to have a wealth of UA clients nominated. 


Best Actress sponsored by G Labs

Jessie Buckley for Wild Rose

Keira Knightley for The Aftermath

Best Actor sponsored by Eden Perfumes

Taron Egerton for Rocketman

Best Actress in a TV Series sponsored by Katrin Leiber

Olivia Colman for The Crown

Best Actor in a TV Series sponsored by Dechavel

Mathew Horne  for Gavin & Stacey

Ricky Gervais for After Life

Best Supporting Actor

Rob Brydon for Blinded by the Light

Sanjeev Bhaskar for Yesterday

Best Drama

Beats starring Lorn Macdonald

Best TV Drama Series sponsored by Dechavel

Peaky Blinders - created and written by Steven Knight and stars Harry KirtonNatasha O'KeeffeBenjamin Zephaniah and Elliot Levey.  With Production Design by Nicole Northridge and cinematography by Si Bell.

The War of the Worlds – starring Rupert Graves, Joey Batey and Freya Allan, Directed by Craig Viveiros, Director of Photography James Friend ASC, BSC and Production Design by Pat Campbell.

Sex Education - with Jim HowickMilly ThomasDan SkinnerChris JenksDaniel Ings, with Production Design by Samantha Harley, Costume Design by Rosa Dias, Episodes 1, 2 & 7 edited by Steve Ackroyd and with Ep 4 co-written by Laura Neal.

The Capture  - with Daisy WaterstoneEsther HallIan PirieGinny Holder​Peter SinghDustin Demri-Burns and with hair and make-up design from Angie Mudge.

Gavin & Stacey (A Special Christmas) – Co-written by James Corden, starring Mat Horne, Rob Brydon and Laura Aikman.

Chernobyl  - with Jessie BuckleyCaoilfhionn DunneGerard KearnsIan PirieJames Cosmoand with Prosthetic Make up Artist Lucy Sibbick.

Years and Years - With Episodes directed by Lisa Mulcahy, production design by Ed Turner, hair & make-up design by Nic Collins.

Beecham House – Starring Tom Bateman, Kulvinder Ghir and with Director of Photography Niels Reedtz Johansen.

A Confession Created and Written by Jeff Pope, stars Rachel ShentonLisa FaulknerChris FulfordJim PiddockJoe DixonChris CoghillDominic TigheFlorence Howard, Edited by James Taylor and Music by Niall Byrne

After Life - Created, Directed, Written by and starring Ricky Gervais. The Series stars Diane MorganTony WayBrian Gittins, David BradleyNikhil Parmar, Produced by Charlie Hanson and Edited by Jo Walker

Best Action

1917 – starring Andrew Scott

Official Secrets – starring Keira Knightley, Angus Wright, Shaun Dooley, Director of Photography Florian Hoffmeister BSC, Production Design by Simon Rogers, Hair and Make-up design by Nadia Stacey and Casting by Kate Dowd Casting.

The Aftermath - ith Keira Knightley, Directed by James Kent and with Production Design by Sonja Klaus and Edited by Beverley Mills.

The Aeronauts –  starring Eddie Redmayne, Lewin Lloyd, Vincent Perez and Choreography by Alex Reynolds.

Best Independent Film

The Personal History of David Copperfield with Additional editing by Robin Peters.

Best British Film sponsored by Eden Perfumes

Mrs Lowry & Son - with Production Design by Catrin Meredydd

Rocketman - starring Taron EgertonTom Bennett, with Hair and Makeup design by  Lizzie Yianni Georgiou, Edited by Chris Dickens ACE, and Production Designer for Additional Photography Peter Francis,

Best Comedy

Eaten by Lions – Directed by Jason Wingard, co-written with David Isaac and starring Tom Binns.

Rupert, Rupert & Rupert - Starring Sandy Batchelor

Beats – with Lorn Macdonald.

Last Christmas - Starring Jade Anouka and David Mumeni.

Horrible Histories: The Movie – Rotten Romans – Starring Rupert Graves, Tony Way, Dan Skinner, Jamie Demetriou, Anna Crilly, Kate Nash, Dustin Demri Burns, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Director of Photography John Sorapure and Hair and Make-up design by Kate Benton.

Yesterday – Written and Produced by Richard Curtis and stars Sanjeev Bhaskar.


Outstanding Performance

Keira Knightley for Official Secrets

Taron Egerton for Rocketman

Eddie Redmayne for The Aeronauts


Best Feature Film sponsored by Storm Label

1917 – starring Andrew Scott

Fighting with my Family - Written, Directed by and featuring Stephen Merchant, with Cinematography by Remi Adefarasin BSC, Costume Design by Matthew Price, Production Design by Nick Palmer and Hair & Make-up Design by Claire Whiteley.


Best Director

Stephen Merchant for Fighting with my Family

Best Documentary

Tell Me Who I Am - Edited by David Charap. 

Best International Film sponsored by Katrin Leiber

Rocketman - starring Taron EgertonTom Bennett, with Hair and Makeup design by  Lizzie Yianni Georgiou, Edited by Chris Dickens ACE, and Production Designer for Additional Photography Peter Francis,


Voting ends on the 10th of March 2020 with winners to be announced at the awards ceremony on the 20th of March 2020.


Heads Of Department
Film, TV & Theatre
Back to News