Broadcast Awards 2018 - Nominations


The Broadcast Awards is the most hotly anticipated event in the television industry calendar, celebrating the very best in British programming and channels. We are thrilled to announce that this years’ nominations feature a plethora of projects with UA Clients.


Best Children’s Programme:


Danger Mouse for CBBC, with voices by Shauna Macdonald, Ed Gaughan and Rasmus Hardiker.

Free Rein for Netflix – starring Natalie Gumede, Caroline Ford and with Script Executive Tom Williams and Script Consultant Lauren Klee.

Horrible Histories for CBBC – Featuring Writing Contributions from Barunka O'Shaughnessy and stars Ellie White.


Best Comedy Programme:


Catastrophe for Channel 4, co-created by and stars Sharon Horgan, Douglas Hodge, Frances Tomelty and Peter Singh.

Cunk On Christmas for BBC Two, co-written by Joel Morris and Jason Hazeley, and stars Diane Morgan.

Harry Hill’s Alien Fun Capsule for ITV with Natasia Demetriou.

People Just Do Nothing  for BBC Three with Lauren Carse.



Best Drama Series or Serial:


Apple Tree Yard for BBC One, starring Frances Tomelty, with Casting by Jill Trevellick and Costume Design by Ray Holman.

The Crown for Netflix, starring Lizzy McInnerny, Ed Stoppard, Daniel Ings and Martin Marquez.

Little Boy Blue for ITV, created by Jeff Pope and stars Dan Skinner, Kent Riley, Nathan Clark Smith, Elizabeth Berrington and music by Niall Byrne.

National Treasure for Channel 4, stars Kerry Fox.

Three Girls for BBC One, with Production Design by Melanie Allen and stars Jackie Clune and Maggie Service.

Tin Star for Sky One, starring Genevieve O’Reilly, with eps directed by Gilles Bannier and Craig Viveiros, Director of Photography Paul Sarossy on episodes 2,4,6,8 & 9 and Editor Selina MacArthur on Episode 6.


Best Entertainment Programme:


Strictly Come Dancing for BBC One, with professional dancers Gorka Márquez, Neil Jones and Katya Jones.

Taskmaster on Dave, featuring Katherine Ryan.


Best Multichannel Programme:


Chewing Gum for E4, starring Jade Anouka.

Murdered for Being Different for BBC Three, with Christopher Coghill, Costume Design by Nigel Egerton and Hair and Make-up design by Jenna Wrage.

Taskmaster on Dave, featuring Katherine Ryan.


Best Original Programme:


The Trial: A Murder In The Family on Channel 4, with Claire Whiteley and segments shot by Simon Tindall.


Best Pre-School Programme:


Go Jetters Christmas Special: The North Pole for CBeebies, with Syrus Lowe.

Lily’s Dritfwood Bay for Nickelodeon Jr, with Richard Dormer.


Best Single Drama:


Against The Law for BBC Two, with Richard Gadd.

Damilola, Our Loved Boy for BBC One, starring Ben Bailey Smith, Jamie Pearson and Production Design by Catrin Meredydd.  

Murdered for Being Different for BBC Three, with Christopher Coghill, Costume Design by Nigel Egerton and Hair and Make-up design by Jenna Wrage.

NW for BBC Two, with Production Design by Simon Rogers, Costume Design by Suzanne Cave, Make-up & Hair Design by Nadia Stacey and Director of Photography by Laurie Rose BSC.

To Walk Invisible for BBC, with Production Design by Grant Montgomery and Director of Photography David Raedeker.


Best Soap/Continuing Drama:


Casualty for BBC One, starring George Rainsford, and writing by Dana Fainaru and Mark Stevenson.

Coronation Street for ITV, with Catherine Tyldesley, Jane Danson, Debbie Rush, Lucy Fallon, Antony Cotton, Oliver Farnworth, Marc Baylis and Peter Singh. With writing by John Kerr, Carmel Morgan, Ella Carmen Greenhill and David Isaac.

Eastenders for BBC One, starring Laurie Brett, Maggie Steed, Jenna Russell, Nitin Ganatra and Linda Marlowe. With writing from Lauren Klee, Natalie Mitchell and Mark Stevenson.

Emmerdale for ITV, with Charley Webb, Emily Head, Bhasker Patel and Gillian Kearney.

Holby City for BBC One, starring Eleanor  Fanyinka, Kaye Wragg and Camilla Arfwedson, and Director Lisa Mulcahy.


International Programme Sales:


Riviera for Sky, starring Vincent Perez and Anthony Calf, with Laurie Rose BSC was the Director of Photography on the first 2 episodes which Daniel Greenway edited, Mags Arnold edited episodes 9 and 10; and Chris Smith wrote an epsiode. 


Jonathan Ross returns to host the awards, which will be held at The Grosvenor Hotel in London on 7 February 2018.




Below the line
Film, TV & Theatre
Back to News