The Betty Trask Awards for a first novel by a writer under 35.

Congratulations to AK Blakemore, author of THE MANNINGTREE WITCHES, and Caleb Azumah Nelson, author of OPEN WATER, who have both won a Betty Trask Award 2022. 

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are presented for a first novel by a writer under 35.

Judged by Sara Collins, Michael Donkor, and Alex Preston. 

Betty Trask Prize & Awards judge Alex Preston said:

It was thrilling to encounter such a strange, rich and often dazzling collection of novels when reading for this year's prize. I felt the presence of Rachel Cusk in many of the works: nameless or shadowy protagonists, formal inventiveness, a recognition of the fertile creative territory that lies between memoir and fiction. Choosing our winners was difficult, but we ended up with a handful of novels that will, I believe, not only delight and engage those who read them now, but will endure into the future.

Previous winners include Zadie Smith, David Szalay, Hari Kunzru and Sarah Waters.

Total prize and award fund: £26,200.

Books Blog
Back to News