Mollie Walton

Writer

Add to shortlist

Books

Assistant: Olivia Davies

Books

Mollie Walton has always been fascinated by history and on a trip to Shropshire, while gazing down from the iron bridge, found the inspiration for what has become her debut saga novel The Daughters of Ironbridge, scheduled for publication in April 2019. She's currently at work on the second book in the series. 

Mollie also writes historical fiction under the name Rebecca Mascull. 

 

Upcoming Publication:

THE SECRETS OF IRONBRIDGE (Ironbridge Saga 2) - Bonnier Zaffre - 30 April 2020

1850s Shropshire.

Returning to her mother's birthplace at the age of eighteen, Beatrice Ashford encounters a complex family she barely knows. Her great-grandmother Queenie adores her, but the privileged social position of Beatrice's family as masters of the local brickworks begins to make her uncomfortable.

And then she meets Owen Malone: handsome, different, refreshing - and from a class beneath her own. They fall for each other fast, but an old family feud and growing industrial unrest threatens to drive them apart.

Can they overcome their different backgrounds? And can Beatrice make amends for her family's past?

A dramatic and heartwarming saga for fans of Maggie Hope and Anne Bennett.

 

Previous publication:

Praise for THE DAUGHTERS OF IRONBRIDGE (2019);

'Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling . . . The Daughters of Ironbridge has all the hallmarks of a classic saga. I loved it' Miranda Dickinson

'Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting and a spell-binding storyline make this a phenomenal read' Cathy Bramley

'The Daughters of Ironbridge has that compulsive, page-turning quality, irresistible characters the reader gets hugely invested in, and Walton has created a brilliantly alive, vivid and breathing world in Ironbridge' Louisa Treger

'Such great characters who will stay with me for a long time' Beth Miller

'The attention to period detail and beautiful writing drew me right in and kept me reading' Lynne Francis

'Vivid, page-turning drama' Pippa Beecheno

'A powerful sense of place and period, compelling characters and a pacy plot had me racing to the end' Gill Paul

'A story that is vivid, twisting and pacy, with characters that absolutely leap off the page' Iona Grey

 

Fiction

Publication DetailsNotes
2019

Bonnier Zaffre

Anny Woodvine's family has worked at the ironworks for as long as she can remember. The brightest child in her road and the first in her family to learn to read, Annie has big dreams. The moment she is asked to run messages to the big house, she's ready to grab the opportunity with both hands.

Margaret King, only daughter of the King family, is surrounded by privilege and wealth. But behind closed doors all is not what it seems. When Annie arrives, Margaret finds her first ally and friend.

Together they plan to change their lives.

But as disaster looms over the ironworks and the King House, Margaret and Annie find themselves surrounded by secrets and betrayal. Can they hold true to each other and find a way to overcome their fate? Or are they destined to repeat the mistakes of the past?