Emilia Bernhard

Writer

Add to shortlist

Books

Emilia Bernhard is an American with a German passport, transplanted to England. She was born in Philadelphia and lived in Iowa, Massachusetts, Arkansas, Cambridge and Paris before ending up in Exeter.

 

Current publication:

THE BOOKS OF THE DEAD (DEATH IN PARIS MYSTERY) - Crooked Lane Books - 2019

The second book in Emilia Bernhard's charming Death in Paris series, featuring two American sleuths in the City of Lights, is perfect for fans of M. L. Longworth and Juliet Blackwell.

Parisian summers are for strolls in the park . . . and solving a murder--or two.

When American sleuth Rachel Levis stumbles upon an employee of the French national library strangled in the bathroom of a cafe, she's not surprised to be asked to help with the investigation by her old acquaintance Capitaine Boussicault--after all, she and her best friend Magda solved a tricky murder only eighteen months before.

But right from the start, this case proves to be très difficile. When Rachel goes undercover as a librarian to determine which of his book-loving colleagues loathed the man enough to kill him, the library is rocked by more bad news: a priceless antique book has been mutilated. And the very next day, her favorite suspect for the murder is found dead in the stacks.

Just as the case is heating up, Boussicault pulls Rachel from the investigation. Undeterred, she and Magda decide to forge ahead with their own investigation--even if it could put them at odds with the police and in serious danger. With evidence and suspects piling up, it will be up to them to find the culprit--and stop more innocent books from being harmed--before anyone else checks out for good.

 

Praise for THE BOOKS OF THE DEAD:

'The interplay between Boussicault and Rachel...drive the narrative as much as the puzzle. A worthy encore to Bernhard's Death in Paris series debut.' - Kirkus

 

Praise for DEATH IN PARIS:

'Bernhard's delightful debut... an often witty comedy of manners, gives a view of the highs and lows of contemporary Parisian society... Bernhard fills the novel with entertaining characters, conjures up an authentic Paris, and gives the reader intelligent, if frothy, fun.' Publishers Weekly

'[A] tres charmant debut... Fans of cozies and the City of Lights, or drawn to the theme of female friendship, will eagerly await an encore.' Booklist Starred Review

"Those who enjoy contemporary cozy mysteries with amateur sleuths will gobble up this first in a series with two Americans in Paris as if it's an actual treat in a Paris cafe.' - Library Journal

'With a dreamy location, plenty of sensory details, a passel of suspects, and a dash of suspense, DEATH IN PARIS is as luscious as a pain au chocolat served at a sidewalk cafe - and as charming as poking through the cobblestone alleyways of the Left Bank. Bern​hard's debut promises a wonderful new series set in the most beautiful city in the world.' Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author

'A fun romp through Paris’s chicest districts alongside two delightful amateur sleuths.' M L Longworth, author of the Provencal mystery series

'Bernhard has crafted a delightfully atmospheric mystery, a pièce de résistance filled with the flavor of Paris, France.' Allyson K. Abbott, author of Murder on the Rocks 

'Two younger, racier Miss Marples, American expats in Paris... A captivating cozy murder mystery with a bonus tour of everyone's favorite city.' John Pearce, author of Treasure of Saint-Lazare

Fiction

Publication DetailsNotes
2018

Crooked Lane Books

The only thing chillier than a Parisian winter is cold-blooded murder.

When French financier Edgar Bowen drowns in a bowl of soup, his former girlfriend, American Rachel Levis, is alarmed by the unnatural death. Who dies eating a nice vichyssoise? But when she overhears a mourner at his funeral describing the circumstances of his death, something sounds even stranger: a bottle of rosé was on the dining table when he died. The only problem: Edgar loathed rosé. If he wasn’t drinking it, who was?

After the police rule the death accidental, Rachel knows it’s up to her and her best friend Magda to investigate. As the two Americans immerse themselves in Edgar’s upper-class world, the list of suspects grows: Could it have been his son, who inherited his money and lavish apartment? His icy ex-wife? His greedy new girlfriend? His impoverished personal assistant?

But when the suspects start dropping like flies, Rachel and Magda realize the murderer is tying up loose ends. It’ll be up to two amateur sleuths to solve their first case before the murderer decides they’re next...