Dr Victoria James

Add to shortlist


Agent: Robert Kirby
Associate Agent: Kate Walsh


Vic is the author of the Dark Gifts series, GILDED CAGE, TARNISHED CITY and BRIGHT RUIN, from Pan Macmillan (UK) and Del Rey/Random House (US). They explore an alternate modern Britain ruled by a magically-gifted aristocracy, where everyone else must give ten years of their life in service. The series has been optioned for screen.

Vic also works as a producer/director for television, with recent credits including the Jeremy Paxman programmes for BBC1 on the UK-EU referendum, the 2016 US presidential race, and the first 100 days of the Trump presidency.

Vic enjoys remote travel, and has visited or reported from St Helena, the Falklands, Easter Island, the Galapagos and Greenland. Upcoming trips include Patagonia, the Antarctic, and Kamchatka. She holds a PhD from Oxford University, and is completing a second PhD from Goldsmiths, University of London.

Reach Vic at www.vicjames.co.uk and on twitter @drvictoriajames


Publication DetailsNotes

Pan Macmillan

The conclusion to the Dark Gifts trilogy comes out in Summer 2018.


Pan Macmillan

A corrupted city
A dark dream of power

Luke is a prisoner, condemned for a murder he didn’t commit. Abi is a fugitive, desperate to free him before magic breaks his mind. But as the Jardines tighten their grip on a turbulent Britain, brother and sister face a fight greater than their own.

New alliances and old feuds will remake the nation, leaving Abi and Luke questioning everything – and everyone – they know. And as Silyen Jardine hungers for the forgotten Skill of the legendary Wonder King, the country’s darkest hour approaches. Freedom and knowledge both come at a cost. So who will pay the price?


Pan Macmillan

A thrilling Orwellian vision of Britain, with a rebellious Hunger Games heart, Gilded Cage is the astonishing debut novel from Vic James, and the first title in her electrifying The Dark Gifts Trilogy.

A modern Britain
An age-old cruelty

Britain's magically skilled aristocracy compels all commoners to serve them for ten years - and now it's the Hadleys' turn. Abi Hadley is assigned to England's most ruthless noble family. The secrets she uncovers could win her freedom - or break her heart. Her brother Luke is enslaved in a brutal factory town, where new friends' ideals might cost him everything.

Then while the elite vie for power, a young aristocrat plots to remake the world with his dark gifts. As Britain moves from anger to defiance, all three must take sides. And the consequences of their choices will change everything, forever.