Three UA Authors Longlisted for Crime Novel of the Year


We are thrilled to share the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award longlist, which includes UA authors Erin Kelly, Susie Steiner and previous winner Chris Brookmyre. The shortlist for the prize, which is worth £3,000 and has the support of WH Smiths and the Mail on Sunday, will be announced on 27th May. The winner is chosen by a panel of judges and will be announced on July 19th at the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. The full longlist is below.


Want You Gone, Chris Brookmyre (Abacus) 
The Midnight Line, Lee Child (Bantam) 
The Seagull, Ann Cleeves (Pan) 
Little Deaths, Emma Flint (Picador) 
The Chalk Pit, Elly Griffiths (Quercus) 
The Dry, Jane Harper (Abacus) 
Spook Street, Mick Herron (John Murray) 
A Death at Fountains Abbey, Antonia Hodgson (Hodder) 
He Said/She Said, Erin Kelly (Hodder) 
Sirens, Joseph Knox (Black Swan) 
The Accident on the A35, Graeme Macrae Burnet (Contraband) 
You Don't Know Me, Imran Mahmood (Penguin) 
Insidious Intent, Val McDermid (Sphere) 
The Long Drop, Denise Mina (Vintage) 
A Rising Man, Abir Mukherjee (Vintage) 
Rather Be the Devil, Ian Rankin (Orion) 
The Intrusions, Stav Sherez (Faber) 
Persons Unknown, Susie Steiner (Borough Press) 

Back to News