Lucy Dawson

Add to shortlist

Books

Assistant: Eli Keren

Books

Lucy Dawson has had eight books published in the UK, the first of which - His Other Lover - was a bestseller in 2008. Her work has been translated into numerous languages. She lives in Exeter with her husband and children. Find out more at www.lucydawsonbooks.co.uk

Current publication:

WHITE LIES - Bookouture, April 2018

A darkly gripping domestic drama about secrets and lies, from the bestselling author of The Daughter. Perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard, Louise Jensen and The Couple Next Door.

When you have everything, you have everything to lose. Alexandra Inglis is a respected family doctor, trusted by her patients to keep their most intimate secrets. And if sometimes the boundaries between duty and desire blur… well, she's only human.

But when Alex oversteps a line with Jonathan, one of her patients, she knows she's gone too far. Jonathan is obsessive, and to get what he wants he will tear Alex's world apart - threatening not only her career but her marriage and family too. 

Soon Alex finds she's capable of doing almost anything to keep hold of her perfect life, as it begins to spin dangerously out of her control…

'Absolutely BRILLIANT. Twisty and compelling, guaranteed to make the reader question who is telling the truth. I devoured it in one sitting.' - Lisa Hall

 

Previous publications:

THE DAUGHTER - Bookouture, Jan 2018

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. Now someone's determined to make you pay… Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess’s daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire… but she’ll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt.

To distance herself from the mistakes of the past, Jess has moved away and started over with her family. But when terrifying things begin happening in her new home, Jess knows that her past has finally caught up with her. Somebody feels Jess hasn’t paid enough, and is determined to make her suffer for the secrets she’s kept all these years.

 

Tense, twisty and all too close to home: Lucy Dawson is brilliant at spinning our worst nightmares from everyday scenarios.’ Erin Kelly author of He Said/She Said

I flew through it. It's a hold your breath, race to the end, one-sitting read. Delicious twists!’ Jo Spain, author of The Confession

 

EVERYTHING YOU TOLD ME - Corvus (Atlantic Books), Jan 2017

You went to bed at home, just like every other night.
You woke up in the back of a taxi, over 250 miles away.
You have no idea how you got there and no memory of the last ten hours.
You have no phone, no money; just a suicide note in your coat pocket, in your own writing.
You know you weren’t planning to kill yourself.
Your family and friends think you are lying.

Someone knows exactly what happened to you.

But they’re not telling…

'A gripping read that kept me guessing' CL Taylor

'Twisted, gripping and completely relatable' Jenny Blackhurst

'Sucks you into the story...A truly enjoyable read' Sophie McKenzie

YOU SENT ME A LETTER - Corvus (Atlantic Books), March 2016

At 2am on the morning of her 40th birthday, Sophie wakes to the darkness of her bedroom -  and a stranger watching her from the foot of her bed.

This man who has broken into her house, who carries photos of her younger sisters going about their daily lives, hands Sophie a letter and an ultimatum:  the message is to be opened only at her forthcoming party, in front of gathered family and friends, at exactly 8pm. Any failure to comply will not end well.

Sophie can only think of one person who hates her enough to have hired a violent professional to menace her like this: her fiancé’s ex-wife. But what can the letter possibly contain? And why must it be read in front of everyone she loves best?

This will be no ordinary fortieth party. Sophie is not the only person holding a secret about the evening ahead. When the clock strikes eight, the course of several people’s lives will be heartbreakingly altered forever.

 

Praise for YOU SENT ME A LETTER:

'Gripping...surprises at every turn,' Daily Mail 

"Nail-biting" Thrillers of the Month, Good Housekeeping 

"Gripping" Cosmopolitan 

"A real page-turner - it'll keep you guessing till the end." Heat 

'Gripping" Hello

'Frantic frenzy which certainly holds one's attention.' Literary Review

“Gripping…Impossible to put down.” (C.L Taylor, author of The Accident)

“One chapter in and you’ll be hooked.” (Red Magazine)

“Kept me guessing to the very last page.” (Erin Kelly, author of The Poison Tree)

“Grabs you by the throat and doesn’t let go…I didn’t breathe the whole time I was reading. Compelling and wholly satisfying.” (Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You)

“What a book this is. Fabulous read.” (SJI Holliday, author of Black Wood)

“Gulped this down in a single sitting. Believable characters, intriguing central hook and a plot that hurtles along til the final page.” (Tammy Cohen, author of First One Missing)

“An intriguing story with an addictive premise. Compelling and expertly crafted. I loved it.” (Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake)

“A gripping, twisty novel that gets right under your skin.” (Mel Sherratt, author of Written In The Scars)

Fiction

Publication DetailsNotes
2018

Bookouture

When you have everything, you have everything to lose. Alexandra Inglis is a respected family doctor, trusted by her patients to keep their most intimate secrets. And if sometimes the boundaries between duty and desire blur… well, she's only human. But when Alex oversteps a line with Jonathan, one of her patients, she knows she's gone too far. Jonathan is obsessive, and to get what he wants he will tear Alex's world apart - threatening not only her career but her marriage and family too. Soon Alex finds she's capable of doing almost anything to keep hold of her perfect life, as it begins to spin dangerously out of her control…

2018

Bookouture

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. Now someone's determined to make you pay… Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess’s daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire… but she’ll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt. To distance herself from the mistakes of the past, Jess has moved away and started over with her family. But when terrifying things begin happening in her new home, Jess knows that her past has finally caught up with her. Somebody feels Jess hasn’t paid enough, and is determined to make her suffer for the secrets she’s kept all these years.

2017

Atlantic

You went to bed at home, just like every other night.
You woke up in the back of a taxi, over 250 miles away.
You have no idea how you got there and no memory of the last ten hours.
You have no phone, no money; just a suicide note in your coat pocket, in your own writing.
You know you weren’t planning to kill yourself.
Your family and friends think you are lying.

Someone knows exactly what happened to you.
But they’re not telling…

2016

Atlantic

At 2am on the morning of her 40th birthday, Sophie wakes to the darkness of her bedroom - and a stranger watching her from the foot of her bed.

This man who has broken into her house, who carries photos of her younger sisters going about their daily lives, hands Sophie a letter and an ultimatum: the message is to be opened only at her forthcoming party, in front of gathered family and friends, at exactly 8pm. Any failure to comply will not end well.

Sophie can only think of one person who hates her enough to have hired a violent professional to menace her like this: her fiancé’s ex-wife. But what can the letter possibly contain? And why must it be read in front of everyone she loves best?

This will be no ordinary fortieth party. Sophie is not the only person holding a secret about the evening ahead. When the clock strikes eight, the course of several people’s lives will be heartbreakingly altered forever.

2009

SPHERE

When Alice meets Gretchen for the first time, it feels a bit like falling in love. Life’s got boringly grown-up of late and Gretchen Bartholomew, with her air of impulsiveness and intuitive style, is that rarest of things: a friend who knows how to have fun. Even the added complication of Gretchen’s gorgeous brother, Bailey, might actually be just what Alice needs. Before she knows what’s hit her, Alice’s brilliant new best friend is turning her world upside down. But Gretchen has dark secrets, which – like ticking time-bombs - won’t stay hidden for ever. The explosion may teach them both more than they ever wanted to know about how female friendships can go wrong…

2008

SPHERE

Mia thinks of herself as a grown up. Her twenty-two-year-old sister, Clare, is once again in the death throes of an affair that was always doomed to failure. Mia now understands that relationships need work; that in an adult partnership, passion and spontaneity give way to something different but more lasting. With Pete she knows that her search for 'The One' can stop. Until, tripping over Pete's phone on the way to the loo one night, she reads a text message that sends her blood cold. Everything in it - its tone, the kisses at the end, Pete's evasions about the sender 'Liz' - is wrong, and suddenly the blinkers are off. It's time to get back in the game, and with everything to play for, Mia is about to discover a capacity for deceit she never knew she had. After all, when Happy Ever After is at stake, any weapon at your disposal is fair game - isn't it?

2012

SPHERE

In the dead of night, Kate receives a phone call. Police have recovered her sister Anya's clothes and personal belongings at the poolside of a remote hideaway in Mexico - a place she had no idea Anya would be. Anya was last seen getting into a vehicle with a local diving instructor but now he's missing too.

Their relationship has been complicated ever since a devastating tragedy blew their family apart, but Kate cannot believe Anya would willingly travel somewhere so isolated with a man she barely knows . . . would she? In a race against time, Kate must fight to find her little sister before it's too late.

Haunting, emotional and laced with psychological suspense, Little Sister will stay with you long after you have turned the last page.

2010

SPHERE

Molly Greene loves being married. Exciting adventures lie ahead for her and husband Dan that will change their lives for ever, but Molly’s not sure they’re making the right choices.
While teetering on the brink of the biggest decision she’s ever faced, she sends an impulsive message to the very last person she ought to contact, someone who should have stayed forgotten, and is now coming looking for her. When he finds her, there is no turning back. One night is all it takes to threaten everything she holds dear – for good.