Jeff Gulvin

Add to shortlist

Books

Agent: Robert Kirby
Assistant: Kate Walsh

Books

JEFF GULVIN has been compared to John Grisham, Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum and Tom Clancy, not to mention Ted Lewis the author of “Get Carter”

He’s the author of three hard-boiled police procedurals, four international thrillers and five other novels. In a temporary step away from fiction he was asked by EWAN McGREGOR and CHARLEY BOORMAN to ghost LONG WAY DOWN the account of their motorcycle journey through Africa. He has since ghosted both of CHARLEY BOORMAN'S BY ANY MEANS trips.

Jeff was invited to join the team because he is a story-teller with an excellent sense of pace, character and place: the result was, according to Ewan McGregor, “Brilliant, as if he was on the back of my bike every step of the way”. Long Way Down won Popular Non Fiction Book of the Year at the 2008 Galaxy Book Awards. His thriller The Procession is being written for film in the USA.

Fiction

Publication DetailsNotes
2016

Faber & Faber

Texas Ranger John Quarrie is called to the scene of an apparent suicide by a fellow war veteran. Although the local police want the case shut down, John Q is convinced that events aren't quite so straightforward.

With his hunch backed up by the man's son, Isaac - back from Vietnam, and convinced his father was murdered - they face a desperate race against time...

Dripping with atmosphere, The Long Count is a page-turner and a psychological puzzle - for fans of Shutter Island and James Lee Burke.

2003

Orion; New edition

Maxwell Carter - a fingerprint analyst at the criminal justice facility in Clarksburg, West Virginia - was supplementing his income by running a very simple scam whereby positive fingerprint matches in old crimes could be conveniently 'ignored' in return for a small retainer. But then he caught a shark in his net - one that did not take too kindly to blackmail. Maxwell's illicit career - and his life - were swiftly and brutally ended.

2001

Orion; New edition

Washington is being brought to its knees by a terrorist bombing campaign. Ill-equipped to deal with the spectre of domestic terrorism the FBI call in the experts: Scotland Yard's anti-terrorist squad and Jack Swann. Meanwhile FBI agent Johnny Harrison is facing up to old ghosts as he investigates a series of killings - and unearths an old friend and a plot to arm the militias for the coming war that will tear the USA apart. For years the USA has been spreading internal strife in countries opposed to it. Now someone is doing the same to them, and only two men, one English, one American, can save the world's most powerful nation - from itself.

1999

Orion; New edition

Storm Crow is the most feared terrorist in the world. He is on the loose on the streets of London, one step ahead of his pursuers. Meanwhile in Idaho, Harrison, an FBI agent, watches the compound of a right-wing militia leader with growing links to events across the Altantic.

Non-Fiction

Publication DetailsNotes
2009

Sphere

Charley Boorman returns with a brand-new adventure, travelling from Australia, Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, Philippines, Taiwan and Japan...by any means! Using quad bikes, hovercrafts, wooden scooters, canoes, paragliders and of course his favourite mode of transport - motorbike - Charley travels through some of the most exotic and exciting countries in the world.

2008

Sphere

Bikes have always been Charley's first love, but he also enjoys a challenge. So when the chance comes to travel across three continents 'by any means', he jumps right in. Grabbing whatever local transport he can get his hands on, Charley travels from his home town in County Wicklow all the way to Australia - a trip of over 20,000 miles through twenty-five countries.

2008

Sphere

After their fantastic trip round the world in 2004, fellow actors and bike fanatics Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman couldn't shake the travel bug. And after an inspirational UNICEF visit to Africa, they knew they had to go back and experience this extraordinary continent in more depth. And so they set off on their 15,000-mile journey with two new BMWs loaded up for the trip. Joining up with producer/directors Russ Malkin and David Alexanian and the Long Way Round team, their route took them from John O'Groats at the northernmost tip of Scotland to Cape Agulhas on the southernmost tip of South Africa.