Beth Cartwright

Author

Add to shortlist

Books

Assistant: Molly Jamieson

Books

Beth Cartwright has taught English in Greece and travelled around South East Asia and South America, where she worked at an animal sanctuary. A love of language and the imaginary led her to study English Literature and Linguistics at Lancaster University, and she now lives on the edge of the Peak District with her family and two cats. She is currently working on her debut novel, WRITTEN ON WATER.

WRITTEN ON WATER tells the story of Elver, who was born with the feathers of a bird in a crumbling house full of tangled secrets. When the Professor arrives with his books and maps and magical stories, he reveals a world waiting outside the window and her curiosity is woken. Caught in the desire to discover her identity and why she has feathers fluttering down her back like golden thistledown, she leaves everything she has ever known and goes in search of the father she has never met.

This hunt takes her to The Murmuring City, a place of mystery, mermaids and bird tribes inhabiting fast-floating islands hidden in swirling mist. It is here she learns about love and loss and everything that comes in between.

Written On Water is in the tradition of The Gracekeepers, The Night Circus and Of Bees and Mist.